Mountains of Things

February 19, 2009 at 4:51 am (Memoirs) (, , , )

Mountains of Things

When all of my stuff got destroyed in a house fire, I naturally gained a new perspective on material possessions.

After the fire, it became almost unbearable to go into a retail establishment. It was overwhelming to have to think about choosing from such an over-abundance of items. Fortunately, I have a very patient friend who would call me up and say things like, “Today I am going to take you to get a pair of socks”. She’d pick me up, we’d go to a store, run in, get one or two items, and then try to get out of there before I had a melt-down.

When you have lived in the same house for 17 years, your material possessions become filled with life, energy, and stories. When you are surrounded by mass quantities of brand new mass-produced objects, it can feel like the life is being sucked right out of you. So many objects in need of human attention can be absolutely overwhelming. I still struggle with “retail panic” to some degree, but I have not cried in a store since November.

I am now happy to have less stuff and to be working on having consciousness about living an uncluttered life.

Here’s a little song I wrote called, “I’ve Cried Everywhere”

*Sing it to the tune of “I’ve Been Everywhere”

I’ve cried everywhere, Man

I’ve cried everywhere, Man

I’ve cried at the mall, Man

A melt-down and a bawl, Man

I’ve shed ten-thousand tears, Man

I’ve cried everywhere

I’ve cried at farmers’ markets, Target, JC Penney

Kmart, Wal-Mart, the check-out line at Safeway

In my throes at Trader Joe’s hiding behind the mangoes

CVS, Costco, especially Home Depot

I’ve cried everywhere, Man

I’ve cried everywhere, Man

I’ve cried at the mall, Man

A melt-down and a bawl, Man

I’ve shed ten-thousand tears, Man

I’ve cried everywhere

I’ve cried at CVS, Sears, IKEA, and Lowes

At the Macy’s super-sale on all women’s clothes

PetSmart, Old Navy, Marshall’s too

While shopping at Whole Foods into the tofu

I’ve cried everywhere, Man

I’ve cried everywhere, Man

I’ve cried at the mall, Man

A melt-down and a bawl, Man

I’ve shed ten-thousand tears, Man

I’ve cried everywhere

4 Comments

  1. Diana Weiner said,

    Yes you have shed many a tear
    Some of them in my arms dear

    Some of them at Holy Cross
    For Mom when words were at a loss

    You do your thing when things go wrong
    You’ve done it again by writing a song

    We are so happy you’re at last glad
    With all our love, Mom and Dad

  2. rachelanncross said,

    Thanks for being there with the Kleenex!

  3. Liz said,

    A little rain. Never hurt no one.

    It’s important to shed a few tears to get to the next level. You’ve come so far my friend. All those tears have enriched your life and those around you. Sorry for the pain. Grateful for the gain. Sending you love and wishes.

    p.s. I often get the urge to cry during retail experiences.

    xxxoo love love.

  4. Carol & Billy Finch said,

    Rachel,
    You have cried everywhere, Billy has golfed Everywhere & I think that my golf game is a crying shame. Crying into the tofu- best line of the song.
    Love the fire Goddesses.
    Thank you for the most recent words of encouragement.
    Carol

Leave a Reply

